A Memorial Day Prayer -2016

praythankremembermemorialday11211

Almighty, infinite God – it is appropriate that we would pause at this time to invite Your presence here among us at this Memorial Day Service.

For so many, today means a day off, the close of a 3-day weekend or even a vacation.  Today is a perfect time to gather with family and friends, enjoy food and fellowship and just relax.  Some may even be tempted to do nothing today.

However, many have chosen to gather here, because we know that 3-day weekends, vacations, and the freedoms we have to gather with family and friends is granted to us at a great cost.

We pray for the men and women serving in our armed forces even now, who are not afforded the luxury of a day off. This morning we pray for their safe return and we pray for their families who miss them dearly.

I am reminded of the Words of Jesus who said, “Blessed are those who mourn… for they will be comforted.”   God, please lift the hearts of those who see today not a just a joyous celebration but as a painful reminder of sorrow and loss.

Give strength to those who have lost family.  Comfort those whose loved ones died serving their country.   Serving OUR country.

Today, it is with thankful hearts that we celebrate and remember their sacrifice.

Let us cherish, nurture, and handle with care the freedom for which they fought – The freedom for which they fought and died.

We close this invocation by praying the Words of Scripture:

Sovereign Lord, now let your servant die in peace, as you have promised.”

Amen

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment