Why Bring A Friend To Church?

building-and-date

Sunday, September 18, 2016 is our annual BF2C ( Bring a Friend to Church ) Sunday at Ham Lane Church.  Each year, around this time, we plan a special service specifically to invite our friends and family to join us in a time of worship followed by a time of food, fun, and fellowship at our annual Fall Family Fellowship at Lodi Lake immediately following our morning services.

 

Why bring a friend to church? Nowhere in the Bible do you find an example of Jesus encouraging His disciples to bring a friend to a special church service.  I want us to understand that inviting someone to church and inviting someone to Jesus is not the same thing.  Although we do want to have numbers and see chairs filled on our BF2C, that’s now why we want you to bring a friend.  Although we are planning a special service and a great fellowship afterwards, that is not the highest level of discipleship. Moreover, we certainly do not what you to think that inviting your friend to church is the same thing as leading them to Jesus.

 

Why bring a friend to church?  It’s because we want them to connect with a biblical community, to experience worship together, to study, to sing, to give, to serve, and to experience fellowship with a family of God.  It’s because we understand that people will get an invitation to follow Jesus through the Bible study, the sermon, or general community environment.  It’s because we truly believe that what we have in store will impact their life for the sake of the gospel to help them grow, rest, learn, gain passion, and begin or strengthen their walk with Jesus.

 

I once heard a country preacher say, “I have never seen an empty seat get saved.”  I agree with that!  We want you to invite your friend to hear the gospel message, the good news about Jesus Christ.  The Apostle Paul wrote, “ I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings” and “to win as many as possible” (see 1 Corinthians 9:19-23).  That why you should bring a friend to church.

 

Chad

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

