Mothers Love Mother’s Day

I have never met a mother who did not love Mother’s Day. My mother loved being honored on Mother’s Day. My wife loves to be honored on Mother’s Day and I have loved honoring them both on Mother’s Day. From the jewelry store flyers, to the 1-800-FLOWERS ads, and Shari’s Berries commercials, we are reminded that mothers love being honored on Mother’s Day.

I like the cartoon that shows a mother standing in a family room that’s a total mess. She’s got a crying baby in her arms and another child is scribbling on the wall with a crayon. The dog is chasing the cat and knocking appliances off the counter. The dishes are undone stacked high in the sink.

Her husband, with a briefcase in hand has just walked in the front door and his eyes are bugging out at the chaotic scene. The exasperated mother barks, “You always ask me what I do all day long. Well, today I didn’t do it – and here it is!”

Mothers love Mother’s Day because it provides an opportunity for us as children and as husbands to say “thank you” for the tedious, little-notice tasks she does every day. This morning, we are going to honor our mothers here among our family of God at Ham Lane Church. If you have not already made plans to honor your mother and/or the mother of your children, then you need to get with it quick! Because mothers love to be honored and they deserve it!

“Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: ‘Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.’” (Proverbs 31:28-29 NIV)

IMG_5031

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

