Why Go To Church?

I had college professor who would end every class by saying, “Go to church this Sunday; It will do you good!”  That has stuck with me all these years and I tend to end my Wednesday evening mid-week Bible studies at the church by encouraging everyone to “come back to church on Sunday it will do you good.” 

Some time back I read where a “church goer” had written a letter to the editor of a newspaper and complained that it made no sense to go to church every Sunday. “I’ve gone for 30 years now,” he wrote, “and in that time I have heard something like 3,000 sermons. But for the life of me, I can’t remember a single one of them. So, I think I’m wasting my time and the pastors are wasting theirs by giving sermons at all.”

 This started a real controversy in the “Letters to the Editor” column, much to the delight of the editor. It went on for weeks until someone wrote this clincher:

 “I’ve been married for 30 years now. In  that time my wife has cooked some 32,000 meals. But, for the life of me, I cannot recall the entire menu for a single one of those meals. But I do know this. They all nourished me and gave me the strength I needed to do my work. If my wife had not given me these meals, I would be physically dead today. Likewise, if I had not gone to church for nourishment, I would  be spiritually dead today!”

Thank God for our physical and our spiritual nourishment.  I pray that you do go to church this Sunday because I know that it will do you good.

 In His Grace (and so glad I am)

Chad Eric Donley Image

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

