What Do You Want For Christmas This Year?

all-i-want-for-christmas-slideAs a child, I loved when the Sears “Wish Book” would arrive in the mail.  Do you remember those?  The catalog contained toys and other holiday-related merchandise. The first Sears Wish Book was printed in 1933, and was a separate big-book catalog from the annual Sears Christmas catalog. Over time it has diminished in size and was even discontinued at one point.  It was revived in 2007, but today they are nothing in size compared to the books I remember from my youth.  Children today don’t really need one.  They have the Internet and their high tech toys to cruise the information highway to identify their holiday “wants.”  But “back in the day” the Sears Wish Book helped us answer the seasonal question: “If you could have anything for Christmas, what would you ask for?”  I would always turn straight to the toys and circle all my wants and desires in red marker to be sure that Santa wouldn’t miss anything.  I must confess that I still experience the same excitement today when the Bass Pro catalogs arrives and I still circle all my wants and desires in red marker.

You may not need the Sears Wish Book today, but you have some wishes too, don’t you?  With Christmas just a couple weeks away how would you answer the question, “If you could have one thing in the world, what would it be?”

King Solomon had to answer that one.  He asked for wisdom.  And God gave it to him.  But by the end of his life he had accumulated more and more: more gold, more horses, and more wives.  He had it all and wanted more.  In the midst of all these gifts he lost sight of the Giver.  He turned away from God and lost it all.

Another King gave us another path to follow.  He had it all and gave it all . . . for us.  In this Christmas season, or any season for that matter, you can guard yourself from the tyranny of too much stuff by giving.  Simply give so that others can simply live.   That’s what the King born as a baby in the manger did.

And my wish?  That you visit the manger and find him.  I also hope you will join us next Sunday (23December2012) at Ham Lane Church for a very special Christmas Worship service at 9 & 10AM.  Then come back and join us for some Christmas Caroling (we’ll meet at the building at 4:30PM) and finally a very special Candle Light Service at 6PM followed by a Hot Choco and Christmas Cookie fellowship.  Plan to attend and invite your family and friends – you’ll be glad you did.

Christmas Blessings,

Chad

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

