The Power of Submission

As a martial artist, I know the power of submission.  When your opponent is able to get you into a submission hold (say for example a rear chock hold) you quickly understand the power of submission; it’s submit or pass out!  However, the Bible speaks of a power in submission for the one who is doing the submitting.  “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you” (James 4:7 ESV).  Talk about a power in submission!  If we submit ourselves to God, our enemy, the devil, will flee from us!  In Philippians 2:5-11, we see that it was the power of Jesus submitting to the will of His Father and suffering death on the cross for our sins that makes it possible for us to have a restored relationship with God and the gift of eternal life with Him on the other side of eternity.  Now that is POWER!  The submission of Jesus to the cross has the power to save you and me from our sins!  The Scriptures say “that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow” (Philippians 2:10).  Have you submitted your life to the Lord?  If not, I suggest you tap out now and submit to Him.  Then you’ll experience the power of submission in your own life.

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

