Stop Playing In the Sewer

Transformation is God’s greatest desire for your life.  God wants to change, mold, and transform you each and every day to be the express image of His Son, Jesus Christ.  In order to make you more like Christ, God wants you to develop the mind of Christ.  God wants to change and transform you to be more like Christ by changing the way you think.  Paul said, “there must be a spiritual renewal of your thoughts and attitudes” (Ephesians 4:23).

In his book “Glorious Mess,” Mike Howerton tells the following story about a childhood experience playing “mud football.” After a huge downpour, he and his neighborhood buddies found a gully filled with two inches of standing water. Howerton describes what happened next:

We had a blast. Every tackle would send you sliding for yards and yards. The ball was like a greased pig, which meant tons of fumbles and gang tackles and laughter.  I remember tackling one of [my friends] and watching him skim across the surface of the water for something like four miles and thinking, “I might be in heaven.” When he got up, I noticed something stuck on his shoulder. I peered closer, wondering, “What is that?” Now, there was a huge, concrete sewage runoff drain right next to the gully. And apparently during heavy rains, all sorts of things got backed up, and I don’t know if the apartment complex immediately next to the school burst a pipe or what, but I do know we didn’t really pay attention to the flotsam in the gully until I noticed that something on Craig’s shoulder. I peered closer and suddenly realized it was a soaking piece of toilet paper. In that same instant I realized the smell surrounding me was a bit more pungent than a typical mud football game ought to smell. I yelled out, “We’re playing in POOP WATER!” and we bolted for home as fast as we could.

Talk about an instant of mental transformation …. Sometimes in life we need our thinking transformed. Sometimes we think we’re having fun until we realize we’re rolling around in sewage.  The way you think determines the way you feel, and the way you feel influences the way you act.  This is always true.  Change the way you think!  Stop looking at this life from the World’s point of view and start to view your life from God’s point of view.  Get into God’s Word, the Bible, see what God has to say and watch your life begin to change.  The GOOD NEWS is that you don’t have to make the change by yourself!  God will change and transform you if you allow Him.  Romans 12:1 says, “do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”  The Bible says “be transformed,” allow God to transform you by changing the way you choose to think.

Want to change your life?  Want to be more like Christ?  Want to get out of the sewer?  It starts by changing the way you thing, developing the mind of Christ from the Word of God and then allowing God to make the transformation in your life.

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

