California Cannonballs & Careless Words

I thought moving my family from South Korea to California would increase my assurance of their safety.  However, recently I read that a crew from the TV show Mythbusters was staging an “experiment” in the town of Dublin, California. They were trying to fire a cannonball into some large water containers at a bomb disposal range. Unfortunately, the Mythbusters crew seriously underestimated the dangerous power of a stray cannonball.

According to an online new report, “The cantaloupe-sized cannonball missed the water, tore through a cinder-block wall, skipped off a hillside and flew some 700 yards east.” But that didn’t end the damage. The cannonball “bounced in front of home on [a quiet street], ripped through the front door, raced up the stairs and blasted through a bedroom …. [Then] it exited the house, leaving a perfectly round hole in the stucco, crossed six-lane Tassajara Road, took out several tiles from the roof of a home on Bellevue Circle and finally slammed into [a family’s] beige Toyota minivan in a driveway on Springdale Drive.”

Regarding the power of the stray cannonball, the owner of the minivan said, “It’s shocking—anything could have happened.” A spokesmen for the local sheriff’s department also commented, “Crazy, crazy, crazy, crazy. You wouldn’t think it was possible.”

( Read the whole story and view the new clip here: http://www.aoltv.com/2011/12/08/mythbusters-cannonball-apology/ )

Stray words also have tremendous power to rip through communities and lives. Our words have the power to destroy and the power to build up (Proverbs 12:6). The writer of Proverb tells us: “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit” (Proverbs 18:21). Are we using words to build up people or destroy them? Are they filled with hate or love, bitterness or blessing, complaining or compliments, lust or love, victory or defeat?  Like a cannonball, they can create “crazy” damage that you wouldn’t think was possible.

Cd

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

