Does God Talk to Himself?

I was reading from Genesis 11 this week and as I was rereading the familiar story of the Tower of Babel, a verse caught my eye that I had never really noticed before. In verse 7, God is speaking and He says, “Come, let us go down and confuse their language so they will not understand each other.” What I find perplexing about the verse is that it leaves you wondering, who is God talking to? Because in the context of the passage it does not state who He’s speaking to and it almost seems as if He just talking to Himself.

I did a little research and found some other passages where it seems God is “talking to Himself” (Genesis 1:26, 3:22, 11:7, & Isaiah 6:8). All these passages raise the question, “who is God talking to?” The good news is that in my experience, more often than not when I come across a question in the Scriptures, I am able to find the answer in the Scriptures.

Obviously, God is talking to someone, and is addressing them as an equal. It should also be kept in mind, that in the case of Gen 1:26, no being, except for the angels, has been created. The Bible answers the question, of who is being addressed, in Isaiah 48:16, “Come near to Me, hear this; I have not spoken in secret from the beginning. From its being, I was there; and now the Lord Jehovah, and His Spirit, has sent Me.” We know, from numerous verses of the Bible, that ‘the sent One’ is the Messiah, Jesus of Nazareth.

It should be noted that three separate and distinct entities, persons, are mentioned in this verse; and that they are addressed as equals: The speaker, who is the Sent One, Jesus the Son; The Lord Jehovah; and the Spirit. Obviously, in the instance of this biblical verse, a trinity of equal persons is represented. We see in Gen 1:26, “Let Us make man.” Since Holy Scripture identifies Jesus as being part of the ‘Us’ it thereby names Him, Creator. This is further proved by John 1:3 and Hebrews 1:10.

Therefore, it seems to me that God was talking to Jesus, the Son, in the above verses. It is also interesting to note that the divinely inspired writers of these verses used the plural word ‘elohym’ instead of the other Hebrew words for God, which are singular in nature. Scripture clearly shows that there is more than one being, entity, or person in the Godhead. This, along with other Scriptures, is the foundation of the Trinity Doctrine. The concept that Father, Son, & Holy Spirit are merely offices or aspects of God, is clearly in opposition to the above verses. Unless, of course, you want to believe that God talks to himself and sends himself on a mission!!!

Chad

About cdonley04

I am a servant of God, a husband and a father. I love my God, my wife and my children with all that I am. I thank my God daily that He chooses to use me in spite of me!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

